iPads and Google Docs

Using Google Docs with iPads:

Introduction

After working with a friend of mine, I have decided that using Google Drive on the iPad as an app works better than using Google Drive as a web-based program. There were many less clicks and movements that we had to do with the app than with the web-based version. I had decided to use Google Drive instead of Evernote because of the collaboration piece that is available. However, the Google Drive App isn’t that smooth yet with iPad. There are some little things that could be changed that would help it out tremendously. I wanted students to be able to create a homework folder, share that folder with me, and then put all their homework into that folder so that I could edit it, give them a score, and allow them to see feedback. This type of collaboration system isn’t available with Evernote and other programs. Besides sharing homework, I wanted to be able to have the students create a portfolio over a three-year period. In that three-year period, they will accumulate their information from US History, World History, and Government/Economics.  With this information, they might be able to use it in their life outside of high school.

Day One:

Today, I want my students to create a Gmail account, write down the username and password, and place it into their binders so they don’t forget it. I have considered keeping a file of their usernames and passwords, but I decided not to because of privacy and security issues. I have set up a Google Form to collect email addresses. The Google Form was given to the students using www.tinyurl.com. The only information that I have on the Google Form  is text box for their first and last name and then I have another text box for their email address. Google Forms will then save the responses into a Excel-like spreadsheet, which can be exported as a CSV file and then imported into Gmail Contacts. You will have to do this manually because it doesn’t do it automatically for you. In the meantime, I have set up email groups (“US History,” “World History,” “Government/Economics”) in my Gmail where I will place the student email addresses. Gmail will recognize the CSV file if it only has Name and Email at the top of the columns. So, then you export the CSV file, and you can delete all the columns that aren’t Name or Email.

After this, have the students create a homework folder that is only shared with you. This will be the folder where they place all their work where the teacher can view it and edit it. For example, a student could name their document “5-Fisher-Homework.” I had the students put the hour in front of their name because Google Drive sorts file numerically and then alphabetically.

There was a major drawback with creating Gmail accounts. In order to verify that you are a human, you need to put in a cellphone number in. We have BYOD in our district, but not every student has a cellphone with texting. This took us for a loop and set us behind quite a bit. I ask a few students who had texting to go around and help the other students out. Also, there were some issues with the students inputting their email addresses into the Google Form. Usually, they mistyped the email address, which would then not allow me to send them an email to the proper address.

I have realized that this process is going to take some time. I should not have anticipated that all my students will come to the classroom with working email addresses, that they know anything about iPads, and that their understanding of Google Docs would be sufficient enough for them to share documents back and forth. I’m questioning whether or not this is a good idea because of how much time it is taking me to collect student emails.

Day Two:

Some students are having a difficult time with Google Drive. Other students are flying right through it. I would feel the same way if I were in their shoes. With Google Drive, if I share a document to the entire class through email groups, then everyone will be able to edit it. Therefore, you MUST make every document that you want them to edit “View Only.” I made this mistake with one student and they started to type their answers onto the document that everyone else was viewing. Therefore, you must teach the students how to access their shared folder, how to copy a document, how to create a document INSIDE their homework folder, and then to paste the questions that you want them to answer.

I need to create a visual in my class of a step-by-step process that they can use while using Google Docs. I have come up with the following directions for the students that I plan on hanging in the classroom:

  1. Access your Google Drive
  2. View the “Share with me” folder
  3. Open the document
  4. Copy the document by clicking and holding and then releasing your finger on a word
  5. Click “Select All” and then “Copy”
  6. Go to your homework folder
  7. Make a new document INSIDE your homework folder and label it the same as the document that you just copied
  8. Click and hold your finger and release again to “Paste”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment