PDF vs. Text-to-Speech

This diagram attempts to list the constraints of using a UDL version of text-to-speech while also listing their affordances. UDL is the universal design for learning. The purpose of it is trying to make sure that all students, regardless of learning ability, are able to equally learn the information. The teacher must then differentiate instruct for those students. The teacher must also acomodate those students who struggle with the particular parts of the assignment (i.e. text-to-speech, providing pictures, shortening reading, larger font… etc).

Text-to-speech:

For me, it was difficult to focus on the monotone type of voice. If it were a human voice, I don’t know if it would have been any better for me. I often found myself wandering to other websites. When I had the actual text, I was able to concentrate on the task better.

I did see some benefits such as the ability for the program to pronounce certain difficult words for the students. You could also change the volume of the program to make sure that you could hear exactly what needed to be said. Some people might also enjoy the multitasking aspect involved with text-to-speech.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment