Literacy: The Meaning

Literacy is a concept that encompasses many complex aspects of thinking, reading, and writing. The literacy media comes in many forms and is different for all groups and ages of people as it is put into context of the reader.

I do not know if I am doing enough as a teacher to make sure that my students are becoming as “literate” as they need to. However, this is one of the areas that I feel like I need to improve in. I hope that this class shows me more tools that will help my students become more literate.

I am thinking of literacy from the perspective of a first grade teacher.

I think literacy is very important at this grade level. It will be important to use visual representations for my students to understand.  Visuals will help them find meaning and understand of words. In order to help students become more literate, I would have to encourage them to read more and more in and out of school, but mostly in a fun way. I will also have to model how to read properly and demonstrate good techniques of a reader.

A question I have from this viewpoint is: how do I manage to possibly create lesson plans that help out each individual learning style and intelligence level in my classroom focusing primarily on literacy?

E – That literacy is a HUGE concept that is tremendously important.

W – Am I doing enough as a teacher to make sure all my students are literate or furthering their literacy? Do I know enough literary tools?

N – Explore new ways and avenues to make sure my students become literate.

S – Literacy is a concept that encompasses many complex aspects of thinking, reading, and writing. The media comes in many forms and is different for all groups and ages of people as it is put into context of the reader.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment