Reflection on Social Presence

I believe that one should keep their professional and personal social presences separate on the web. For example, I do not want my students viewing my camping pictures from the summer of 2012 or know that I am “following” President Obama. There is absolutely no need for it; therefore, I create separate pages for my professional life, this includes information that I only want students and possible employers to see, and another social media site for my personal information.

There are a few things that I would like to share with the rest of the world wide web. I have been doing a lot of speaking at universities, high schools, and  ISDs about the importance of technology integration. I would like to be able to advertise or market my ability to make great and engaging presentations to them to further help educate others on the information that I know. To do this, I should probably create different social media sites geared for this type of job.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflection on Social Presence

  1. emstrazz says:

    I wrote in my blog that I combine my personal and professional social presences; yours makes me rethink it a little bit. I wouldn’t necessarily invite administrators or students to view my facebook page, but I keep it clean so that if an administrator or student found it, I’d have nothing to worry about. I am also friends with a lot of colleagues, so I use my personal facebook to collaborate with them. I don’t think I’d want to have to maintain two separate accounts.

    • annie blaauw says:

      I keep two separate accounts as well, and for the most part I like it. I think it satisfies my students’ curiosity about my personal life and helps build relationships, especially with kids who are too shy to talk in person but are willing to ask something on my wall. It also serves as a good reminder for homework and project assignments! The hardest part of it is remembering to ever log in–some students would always complain that I never updated my “school” FB page often enough.

Leave a comment